About CHS
Self Defense
Photo Archive
WTF Poomsae
Free Week

 World Taekwondo Federation Poomsae (Forms)

Related Site: http://www.sc-tkd.com/Forms-Poomse-1.htm

Taegeuk 1 Jang

Taegeuk Scene 1 applies actions of Keon of Palgwe, which is the principal Gwe of the 64 (or 8 in short) Gwes of the Book of Changes. Keon represents heaven and light. Heaven gives us rain and the sun gives us light and make things grow. Therefore, Keon is the beginning of everything on earthand the source of creation. Keon-Gwe is the powerful and manly Gwe. It can be compared to a dragon going up to Heaven from its living place on earth In an analogy, Taegeuk begins with Keon namely heaven.

In composition of Poomsae, we have tried to put in many Geotki(walking), Seogi(stance), and Apseogi to be fit for the beginners. In Taegeuk Scene 1, Jireugi is limited to Momtong-Baro-Jireugi, and Makki is limited to Momtong-Makki.

It is characterized by putting two Ap-Chagi actions in 14th actions and 16th actions.

Taegeuk 2 Jang

Taegeuk 2 Jang is a series of actions applying the principle of Tae of Palgwe.

This is expressed by the symbol Tae, meaning joyfulness. This is the state in which ones mind is kept firm and ostensively appears gentle so that smile and virtue prevail.

Accordingly, this action should be preformed gently but forcefully. It begins with Arae-Makki and proceed to Momtong-Jireugi, Ap-Chagi, and Eolgool-Makki.

Taegeuk 3 Jang

Taegeuk 3 Jang concerns actions applying the principle of Ri of Palgwe. This symbol means fire and the Sun. What distinguishes man from animal is that man knows how to use fire. Burning fire gives men light, warmth, enthusiasm and hope. Taegeuk 3 Jang actions, accordingly, should be performed with vareity and with passion. These actions principally are based upon Arae-Makki, Ap-Chagi, Jireugi, Jebipoom, and Mok-Chagi. Actions of hands, feet, and body are successively used in defense. These actions help us attain briskness when we execute attacks.

Taegeuk 4 Jang

Taegeuk 4 Jang is a series of actions applying the principle of Jin of Palgwe. Jin symbolizes thunder. Thunder and lightning are the objects of fear and trembling. This principle suggests to us that we should act calmly and bravely even in the face of danger and fear. Then the blue sky and bright sunlight will appear again. 4 Jang actions consist of Sonnal-Makki, Jebi, Jebipoom, Mok-Chigi, Chireugi, and Momtong-Bakat-Makki, etc. Bakat-Makki is one of the difficult actions of Momtong-Makki; we must be careful in performing it. And when you execute Jebipoom, do not lift the lagging foot from the floor before completing body turning. And you must also maintain body balance well.

Taegeuk 5 Jang

Taegeuk 5 Jang is a series of actions applying the Seon principle of Palgwe. This symbolizes wind. There are such horrible winds as typhoon, storm, and tornado. But the nature of wind is gentle. A spring breeze caresses a weeping willow. Wind symbolizes humble state of mind. It expresses repetitive good-natured actions. Actions proceed sometimes gently and monotonously as breeze but sometimes as forcefully as storms. At the beginning sidewise Me-Jommeok-Naeryo-Chigi is executed and you proceed to Palkoop-Chigi.

Taegeuk 6 Jang

Taegeuk 6 Jang is a series of actions applying the principle of Gam of Palgwe. This means water. Water is liquid and formless. Water never loses its nature. It always flows downward. This principle teaches the lesson that we can overcome difficulties and hardship if we go forward with self-confidence. Actions of this illustration, following the pattern of flowing water, pass over the disconnected parts by kicking. This illustration is characterized by Momtong-Bakat-Makki and five actions in which Sonnal-Eolgool-Makki is executed by twisting the body as in Jebipoom actions.

Taegeuk 7 Jang

Taegeuk 7 Jang is a series of actions applying the Gan principle of Palgwe. Gan means "to stop." It symbolizes a mountain. We should stop when we should and must go forward when me must; moving and stopping should match with time in order to acheive things. A mountain never moves. Man must learn the stability of a mountain. We should not act in a hasty manner. This principle is well adapted to Taekwondo. Though fast actions seem fine, we should know where and when to stop. The reason why the Beomseogi is included here is that it enables us to move freely.

Taegeuk 8 Jang

Taegeuk 8 Jang is a series of actions applying the Gon principle of Palgwe. Gon symbolizes the earth. The earth is the source of life. Things take life from it and grown on it, drawing limitless energy from it. The earth is where the creative force of heaven is embodied. The earth is always wordless; it hugs and grows everything. The 8 Jang is the grader's last round of training, and a stepping stone to the way of a Dan-holder. Here you brush up fundamental actions and review them.